3D scanning in production of decorative carved figures

Decorative figures are a good way to revive a garden. Many people produce decorative elements as a hobby, but some of them do it on a professional basis. Anecdotal evidence suggests that competition in this business is almost nonexistent and the demand is much higher than for other elements of landscape design, but it is not the case. Bright prospects are promised to the beginners by the companies which manufacture the equipment for casting of garden figures. As a result there is at least one or several firms in every town which manufacture such products. The profitability of this business is 35%, and the minimum amount that will be spent on the creation of one garden figure is more than 200$. In addition, the process is very labour and time-consuming. This article will tell you how to automate the production of garden figures through the use of 3D scanning. 

5

SOLIDSCAN company digitized a decorative carved sculpture of a lion for a company Smik, Russia, which manufactures decorative garden figures from the concrete. The customer’s aim was to kick off mass production of such figures on CNC machines.


Woodcarving is a long and expensive process. It is not appropriate for mass production. The customer faced the challenge to automate production, so that it is less labour-intensive. it was also necessary to obtain a “mirrored” 3D model of the figure. The lion which was turned to the left, was made manually, but it was necessary to make another series of lions that were supposed to be turned to the right. Mirroring makes it possible to avoid additional expenses for preparation of the original figure by traditional means.


The object of scanning was made by a master of woodcarving. The digitization was carried out on the territory of the customer. 3D scanning of carved decorative figures requires high precision, that is why SOLIDSCAN chose to use RangeVision PRO 2M 3D scanner which was set on the first scanning zone. The object was covered with markers to achieve the most accurate results of digitization. The whole process of scanning took one working day.

Post-processing makes it possible to align 3D scans and obtain the final 3D model. The quality of the end result shows all the visible decorative elements, such as mane and relief of the lion’s head.


RangeVision PRO 2M 3D scanner completed its task with high accuracy. Using 3D scanning technology, SOLIDSCAN helped their client to automate the production of sculptures and save the budget on elaboration of the source models. The screenshots above demonstrate high quality  of the final 3D model. That is why RangeVision PRO 2M 3D scanner has proven to be the right choice for digitization of decorative elements.

3D сканирование в производстве декоративных резных фигур

3D сканирование в производстве декоративных резных фигур

Декоративные садовые фигуры - хороший способ оживить пространство дачного участка. Кто-то изготавливает декоративные фигуры в качестве хобби, а некоторые занимаются этим на профессиональной основе. Существует мнение о том, что при высоком спросе конкуренция в этом бизнесе практически отсутствует, но это не так. Многочисленные компании по производству оборудования и расходных материалов для изготовления садовых фигур обещают радужные перспективы новичкам. Фактически в любом городе уже существует как минимум одна или несколько фирм, которые занимаются производством такой продукции. Рентабельность этого бизнеса составляет порядка 35%, а минимальная сумма на создание одной садовой фигуры вырьируется в пределах 15 тысяч рублей. Зачастую процесс изготовления очень трудоемок и занимает много времени. В этой статье мы расскажем о том, как автоматизировать производство с помощью 3D сканирования.

5

По заказу предприятия СМиК, город Кропоткин, производящего декоративные садовые скульптуры из бетона, компания SOLIDSCAN провела сканирование резной скульптуры льва ручной работы для дальнейшего массового производства на фрезерных станках с ЧПУ.


Резьба по дереву - это длительный и дорогостоящий процесс, не пригодный для массового производства товаров доступной ценовой категории. Перед изготовителем стояла задача автоматизировать производство, минимизировав ручной труд, тем самым снизив себестоимость конечного продукта. Также заказчику было необходимо получить “отзеркаленный” вариант фигуры: вручную был изготовлен один лев, повернутый влево, но нужна была и другая серия львов, повернутых вправо. “Отзеркаленная” 3D модель позволяет избежать дополнительных затрат на подготовку оригинальной фигуры, выполненной традиционным путем.


Объект сканирования был изготовлен мастером-резчиком. Оцифровка проводилась на территории заказчика. Сканирование декоративных резных фигур требует высокой детализации, поэтому для выполнения заказа SOLIDSCAN использовали 3D сканер RangeVision PRO 2M, настроенный на первую зону сканирования. Для достижения максимально точных результатов оцифровки на объект были нанесены маркеры. Весь процесс сканирования объекта занял один рабочий день.

В процессе пост-обработки сканы были сшиты, и получена высокоточная финальная 3D модель, на которой были видны все декоративные резные элементы, такие, как грива и рельеф головы льва.


С помощью 3D cканера RangeVision PRO 2M удалось получить высокоточную финальную 3D модель. SOLIDSCAN помогли своему клиенту автоматизировать производство скульптур и сэкономить бюджет на подготовке исходных объектов за счет применения технологии 3D сканирования. Скриншоты выше демонстрируют то, что финальная 3D модель отличается высокой точностью, вот почему профессиональные 3D сканеры от RangeVision идеально подходят для оцифровки элементов декора.