3D toys from Rastyapino

There is a town in Russia called Dzerzhinsk. Until 1929, the town was previously a province known as Rastyapino. A studio called “Young Sculptor” is located in Dzerzhinsk nowadays. At this studio, children under the guidance of mentor and artistic director Vladimir Kornev create small ceramic sculptures known as “Rastyapinskie zabavy” (literally meaning “Rastyapinskie toys”) from the word Rastyapino. These toys humorously depict the inhabitants of the city, historical characters, architecture and artifacts from the late 19th to early 20th century and simply funny animals.

   
The young group of apprentices

Rastyapinskie toys represent the history of the province in a cartoon that always elicits a smile in the audience. The toys are very popular among locals and tourists. Some figurines can even be found in the yards and in the streets of the city – Vladimir discloses.

     Rastyapinskie toys


3D scanner from RangeVision Smart recently appeared in the studio. Also, the studio got a 3D printer. Along with this, children have the opportunity not only to learn the clay modeling, but also to learn the intricacies of the bases of production and modern technology. Moreover, production process has become simpler and faster. Let’s tell you a little about how it had done before and how it is done now so that the practical benefits of 3D technologies could become obvious.

Previously, in order to make beautiful clay toys, we had to sculpt it out of clay. Next, this clay model was shot plaster form, which is filled with liquid clay (slip) then. In the end appeared a clay toy which was ready for further painting. There was always the problem of preserving the plasticine model so that we can make further plaster molds. It would give us the opportunity to create the whole series of toys. 



Modeling of figurines from clay


The solution to this problem was to use plastic model printed in a 3D printer. Now you just only need to scan the clay figurine to get its 3D STL model on the computer, and then print on a 3D printer. “RangeVision offered us the affordable scanner solution with high detalization. This 3D scanner can capture finest details of a figurine. This RangeVision scanner was an ideal choice for our goals,” - head of the studio shares his impressions.

Next, we’ll describe the process of creating souvenirs with the help of the RangeVision Smart 3D scanner.


RangeVision Smart 3D scanner


1. Plasticine figurine is scanned with RangeVision Smart 3D scanner.



3D scanning of figurine


2. An accurate 3D model of the figurine appears on the computer. It can be edited in 3D modeling program Blender. This program is popular among 3D and virtual sculptors around the world. “The apprentices also know how to do it. Blender is an extremely accurate and easy-to-use tool that is more advanced than the usual centuries-old sculptor’s tool – stack. But this software is useless for our goals without the RangeVision Smart 3D scanner, – says Vladimir.


That’s how the model looks like at a computer screen in Blender


3. Once the 3D model acquires its final form after editing, it is sent to the 3D printer to be printed.

Printing of 3D model of the figurine


4. The next step is to make a plaster mold. The printed figurine is immersed into a special mixture (it can be purchased at any hardware store), which hardens after 10 minutes.

 Immersion of printed figurine into plaster


Plaster mold
5. Now we can make more than a dozen figurines by filling liquid clay into the form.

Pouring slip into a plaster mold

The clay figurine is ready!

Model, taken out from plaster

6. After roasting it in a furnace, the master begins painting


Clay toy painting


Finished toys


A new and fast method of creating ceramic miniatures in the studio is now possible with the help of RangeVision Smart 3D scanner, 3D printer and software Blender. You can now create not only single figurines but also a series of toys – this is important for the souvenir business. The apprentice children now also have a great chance to learn the modern programs of 3D modeling, animation and printing in practice and in a fascinating form. They have even created the first test cartoon.

Due to the fact that 3D scanner RangeVision Smart allows to obtain colored 3D models, other toys available in the Studio were transferred to the 3D format which gives a lot of opportunities for creativity. Thus, the high quality of detail and colors allowed us to print an exact copy of miniatures with 3D printer at the other end of the Earth - in Lebanon.

A copy of Rastyapinsky horse was printed on a 3D printer in Lebanon

It turns out that 3D printing and 3D scanning take souvenir production to a new level. Now, replication of models has become fast, accurate and technological. You now have less routine and more creativity. Speaking of creativity, the studio has a small theater where the leading characters are the same Rastyapinskie toys, while the main characters are the talented apprentices. 

   

Theatre in the “Young Sculptor” studio

The “Young Sculptor” studio expresses sincere gratitude to the company RangeVision for the tremendous opportunity to engage in creativity in a new high-tech level.

“Without you, we would have remained in the 19th century!”.

Растяпинские 3D забавы


В Нижегородской области есть город Дзержинск. До 1929 года город входил в состав Нижегородской губернии и назывался Растяпино. Сегодня там находится студия «Юный скульптор», в которой дети под руководством наставника и художественного руководителя Владимира Корнева создают маленькие керамические скульптуры – «растяпинские забавы». Эти игрушки с юмором изображают жителей города, исторических персонажей, архитектуру и предметы быта конца 19-го – начала 20-го века и просто весёлых зверушек. 

   
Младшая группа юных скульптуров

«Растяпинская забава – это история растяпинского края в шарже, неизменно вызывающем улыбку у зрителей. Растяпинская забава очень популярна среди местных жителей и туристов. Некоторые фигурки можно даже встретить во дворах и на улицах города» – говорит Владимир.

Растяпинские забавы

Недавно в студии появились 3D-принтер и 3D-сканер RangeVision Smart и теперь помимо лепки из глины здесь учат детей современным технологиям и основам производства. Таких возможностей у ребят ещё никогда не было! К тому же процесс производства стал более простым и быстрым. Мы хотим немного рассказать о том, как это происходило раньше и как происходит теперь, чтобы практическая польза от внедрения 3D-технологий стала очевидной.

Раньше для того, чтобы сделать красивую глиняную игрушку, нужно было вылепить её из пластилина, а уже потом выполнять из глины. Поэтому сначала мастер (чаще всего ребёнок, который занимается в студии) лепит из пластилина фигурку. Далее с этой пластилиновой модели снимается гипсовая форма, которую затем заливают жидкой глиной (шликером). В конце появляется готовая глиняная игрушка под покраску. Здесь возникала проблема: как сохранить пластилиновую модель для снятия нескольких следующих гипсовых форм? Ведь пластилин мягок и недолговечен.


Лепка фигурок из пластилина

Решением этой проблемы стало использование модели из пластика, напечатанной на 3D-принтере. Теперь для этого достаточно сканировать слепленную из пластилина фигурку, чтобы получить её трёхмерную STL-модель на компьютере, а затем напечатать на 3D-принтере. «Самую бюджетную модель 3D сканера с высокой детализацией нам помогли найти в RangeVision. Этот сканер подошёл для наших целей идеально» – поделился впечатлениями руководитель студии.

Дальше мы опишем процесс создания растяпинских сувениров, который стал возможен с 3D-сканером RangeVision Smart.


3D сканер RangeVision Smart

1. Пластилиновую фигурку сканируют 3D сканером RangeVision Smart

3D-сканирование фигурки

2. Точная 3D-модель фигурки появляется на компьютере. Её можно редактировать в программе 3D моделирования «Блендер», которая очень популярна у специалистов всего мира, занимающихся 3D моделированием скульптур. «Теперь ученики студии тоже умеют это делать. «Блендер» – крайне точный и удобный инструмент, который более совершенен, чем привычный веками инструмент скульптора – стека. Но он бесполезен для наших целей без 3D-сканера RangeVision Smart» – говорит Владимир.


Так модель выглядит на экране компьютера в «Блендере»

3. В тот момент, когда 3D-модель после редактирования приобрела свой законченный вид, её отправляют на печать в 3D-принтер. 

Печать 3D-модели фигурки

4. Следующий этап – изготовление гипсовой формы. Напечатанную фигурку погружают в специальную смесь (её можно приобрести в любом строительном магазине), которая застывает уже через 10 минут.

Погружение напечатанной фигуры в гипс
Получается вот такая гипсовая форма многоразового использования.


5. Теперь мы можем изготовить не один десяток фигурок, заливая в форму жидкую глину. 

Заливка шликера в гипсовую форму

Глиняная фигурка готова!

Готовая модель

6. После обжига в печи мастер приступит к росписи.



Роспись глиняной игрушки


Готовые игрушки


С помощью 3D сканера RangeVision Smart, 3D принтера и программного обеспечения «Блендер» стал возможен новый, быстрый метод создания керамической миниатюры в студии. Теперь можно создавать не только единичные фигурки, но и серии игрушек – для сувенирного дела это важно. А ещё у юных скульптуров появился отличный шанс освоить на практике современные программы 3D-моделирования, печати и анимации (ими даже был сделан первый пробный мультфильм).

Благодаря тому, что 3D сканер RangeVision Smart позволяет получать цветные 3D-модели, остальные игрушки, имеющиеся в активе студии, тоже были переведены в 3D формат, дающий широкие возможности для творчества. Так, высокое качество детализации и передачи цвета позволило напечатать точную копию миниатюры на 3D-принтере на другом конце Земли - в Ливане.

Копия растяпинской лошадки распечатана на 3D-принтере в Ливане


Получается, что 3D-печать и 3D-сканирование выводят производство сувенирной продукции на новый уровень: теперь тиражирование моделей стало быстрым, точным, технологичным. Меньше рутины – больше творчества! Кстати, о творчестве: при студии есть свой маленький театр, где главные действующие лица – всё те же “растяпинские забавы”, а главные герои – талантливые ученики.

   

Театр в студии “Юный скульптор”

Студия «Юный скульптор» выражает огромную благодарность компании RangeVision за потрясающую возможность заниматься творчеством на новом высокотехнологичном уровне.

«Без вас мы бы так и остались в 19 веке!».