3D scanning of exhibits of the museum complex.

Remote work with artifacts (which increases the rate of exchange of scientific information) and virtual museums (that allows anyone to familiarize with the collections that are “hidden” in museum vaults without leaving home) are possible thanks to modern 3D-technologies that provide new opportunities for the preservation and study of cultural heritage.

3D scanning technologies are used in work with pieces of historical heritage for a long time already. One of the areas of use is the creation of virtual exposures.

Some world museums already offer virtual tours, with the help of which it is easy to get acquainted with the history of the country or region without leaving your home or office. There are can be many reasons for a virtual visit: banal lack of time to travel or the desire to get acquainted with the museum’s exposition before visiting it, or even to study individual exhibits without haste in detail. Some museums can be located in remote or hard-to-reach places; in such cases, a virtual visit becomes an alternative means of studying history.

In contrast to the physical, the virtual space allows to expose any number of exhibits, which makes the technology attractive for museums with limited exhibition space.

In the modern world, the creation of virtual museums is becoming an important area in the fields of education, science and culture.

At the invitation of the administration of the Balakhna's museum of History and Art, RangeVision specialists took part in the preparation of 3D models for the website of museum. The task was to perform high-quality 3D scanning of several exhibits transferring color, shape and the smallest details of objects.

All 3D scanning work took place on the territory of museum in Balakhna. Balakhna is an old Russian city founded in 1474 and located on the right bank of the Volga River, 35 km from Nizhny Novgorod. In ancient Russia, this city was the center of industry and was famous for the production of furnace and architectural ceramic decorative tiles. These tiles were used in the construction of churches, lining of houses and stoves.

The first of the digitized exhibits was the ceramic tiles from the Church of the Savior (18th century).

This piece of art consists of four elements and was carefully installed for scanning. Scanning was performed in steps, after each scan from one angle the scanner was moved. Upon completion of the scanning, all scans were aligned and merged into a single 3D model in ScanCenter NG software.

The second exhibit for which the 3D model was made was a steel helmet of the second half of the 16th century from the Sheremetev collection.

There are floral ornament and inscriptions in Arabic on the dark surface of the helmet.This is a hard to scan object. It was necessary to obtain a high-quality surface texture. When scanning task is to obtain detailed color textures the special markers (targets) cannot be applied to surface to simplify the alignment of scans. As in the case of the first exhibit, the alignment had to be carried out in fully manual mode.

The next digitized exhibits were the “Balakhna mayor” breastplate and an inkwell of the 17th century. The scanning requirements were same as for the helmet.

All the work on 3D scanning the four exhibits took 4 hours, and it took about four hours more to align scans and make final 3D models. The 3D models were passed for subsequent posting on the museum's website.

The administration of the museum complex was satisfied with the final result.

3D-сканирование экспонатов музейного историко-художественного комплекса.

Дистанционная работа с артефактами, увеличивающая скорость обмена научной информацией и виртуальные музеи, позволяющие познакомиться с «закрытыми» в музейных хранилищах коллекциями не покидая дома? Всё это возможно благодаря современным 3D-технологиям, дающим новые возможности для сохранения и изучения культурного наследия.

Технологии 3D-сканирования уже давно используется при работе с историческими ценностями и одно из направлений - это создание виртуальных экспозиций.

Мировые музеи уже предлагают виртуальные туры, с помощью которых легко ознакомиться с историей страны или края не выходя из дома или офиса. Причин для виртуального посещения много: это и отсутствие времени для поездки, и желание заранее ознакомиться с экспозицией музея до его посещения или детально изучить отдельные экспонаты без спешки в домашней обстановке. Некоторые музеи могут быть расположены в удаленных или труднодоступных местах, в таких случаях виртуальное посещение становится альтернативным средством изучения истории.

В отличии от физического, виртуальное пространство позволяет выставить любое количество экспонатов, что делает технологию привлекательной для музеев с ограниченными выставочными площадями.

В современном мире создание виртуальных музеев становится важным направлением в сферах образования, науки и культуры.

По приглашению администрации Балахнинского музейного историко-художественного комплекса специалисты RangeVision приняли участие в подготовке 3D-моделей для их сайта: требовалось выполнить высококачественное 3D-сканирование нескольких экспонатов с передачей цвета, формы и мельчайших деталей объектов.

Все работы по 3D-сканированию проходили на территории комплекса в Балахне. Балахна — старинный русский город, основанный в 1474 году и расположенный на правом берегу реки Волга, в 35 км от Нижнего Новгорода. В древней Руси этот город был центром промышленности и славился производством печных и архитектурных изразцов. Изразцы использовались на строительстве церквей, облицовке домов и кладке печей.

Первым из оцифрованных экспонатов стал изразец Спасской церкви (18 - го века).

Изразец состоял из четырех элементов и был аккуратно перенесен и установлен для сканирования. Сканирование выполнялось частями, после съемки кадра с одного ракурса сканер перемещался. По завершении сканирования все кадры были совмещены и объединены в единую 3D-модель.

Вторым экспонатом, для которого была сделана объемная 3D-модель стал стальной шлем второй половины 16-го века из коллекции Шереметевых.

На темной поверхности шлема нанесен растительный орнамент и надписи на арабском языке. Это сложный для 3D-сканирования объект, т.к. нужно было получить качественную текстуру поверхности. Поскольку при сканировании с текстурами нельзя крепить специальные маркеры для упрощения сборки фрагментов последующая сшивка и объединение сканов, как и в первом случае, выполнялась вручную.

Следующими оцифрованными экспонатами стали нагрудный знак “Балахнинский городской голова” и чернильница 17 века. К ним предъявлялись такие же требования, как и к шлему.

Вся работа по сканированию четырех экспонатов заняла 4 часа, еще около четырех часов потребовалось на совмещение собранных данных и построение моделей. Готовые 3D-модели были переданы для последующего размещения на сайте музея.

Администрация Балахнинского музейного историко-художественного комплекса и участники проекта остались довольны плодотворным сотрудничеством.