3D-scanning in the restoration of the Gorky Literature Museum

flowers_preview.jpg

In anticipation of the 150th anniversary of Maksim Gorky, the restoration of the Burmistrova's mansion in Nizhny Novgorod is taking place, where the Literary Museum of the writer is located. RangeVision engineers took part in the process and scanning the decorative elements of the historic interior.

The mansion of the merchant's wife V.M. Burmistrova is one of the most beautiful architectural monuments of the late 19th century. It was built in 1882 by the architect from St. Petersburg N.D. Grigoriev in the style of academic eclecticism with motives of Russian baroque and classicism. After the nationalization of 1918, the mansion at different times served as a historical museum, as a dormitory, and even as a hospital. Despite this, the interiors have survived. 3D-scanning was used in the process of their restoration as a modern approach to the preservation and reproduction of unique samples. 3D scanning technology allows to quickly, accurately and safely digitize objects almost from any material, e.g. wood, stone, metal, porcelain, bone, etc.

RangeVision engineers scanned large objects on the territory of the museum, while small forms were dismantled and scanned in the company office. RangeVision Spectrum scanner was used for 3D scanning of these historical samples of wooden carvings. Based on the scan data the 3D models were created and the lost fragments were restored digitally. Then all the elements were reproduced on a CNC woodworking machine in "Dmitry Zhamkov’s art workshop". It is hard to imagine how long it would take and how much it would cost to make such carvings manually.

Thus the ornament on the museum entrance door made of oak was restored. Matting spray was applied, so that the glare of the varnish would not affect the digitization of the geometry and several markers were placed to improve accuracy.

door.png

Some carved interior elements were taken off and digitized in RangeVision office. Post-processing of scan data was needed both to refine the geometry of objects, which were covered with layers of varnish, and to reconstruct the damaged elements

scan-collage.png

3D scanning can be used to optimize other restoration processes, for example, restoration of gypsum reliefs and stucco moldings. It is much easier to make molds for casting new parts using 3D scans.

examples.png

An interesting fact is that "a small, elegant, like a royal toy..." Burmistrova's mansion and the mistress herself became prototypes for the novel "The Damned Family" by I. S. Rukavishnikov. It is also worth noting that the date of Gorky jubilee, on March, 28, is included in the list of the UNESCO anniversaries for 2018-2019.

house.jpg

Photo: agentika.com

3D-сканирование для реставрации Литературного музея им. А. М. Горького

flowers_preview.jpg

В Нижнем Новгороде к 150-летнему юбилею А. М. Горького проводится реставрация особняка В. М. Бурмистровой, где расположен Литературный музей имени писателя. Инженеры RangeVision участвовали в восстановлении - сканировали декоративные элементы исторического интерьера.

Особняк купчихи В. М. Бурмистровой - один из красивейших памятников архитектуры конца XIX века. Здание было построено в 1882-м году Н.Д. Григорьевым, архитектором из Петербурга, в стиле академической эклектики с мотивами русского барокко и классицизма. После национализации 1918 года особняк бывал и историческим музеем, и общежитием, и госпиталем. Несмотря на это интерьеры сохранились. В процессе их реставрации применили 3D-сканирование - современный подход к сохранению и воспроизводству уникальных образцов. Быстро, точно и безопасно оцифровать можно изделия из любых материалов: дерева, камня, металла, фарфора, кости...

Инженеры RangeVision сканировали демонтированные элементы декора в офисе и выезжали в музей для оцифровки крупногабаритных объектов. Прекрасные образцы деревянной резьбы побывали под структурированным подсветом оптического сканера RangeVision Spectrum. По сканам создали 3D-модели и восстановили утраченные фрагменты в электронном виде. В художественной мастерской Дмитрия Жамкова вырезали новые образцы на деревообрабатывающем станке с ЧПУ. Представьте, сколько времени бы заняло и сколько стоило бы повторение резьбы вручную.

Таким методом восстановили орнамент на входной дубовой двери музея. Оператор сканера нанес матирующий спрей, чтобы блики лака не повлияли на считывание формы, и наклеил несколько маркеров для повышения точности.

door.png

Часть резных деталей снимали и оцифровывали в офисе RangeVision. Постобработка сканов была связана с уточнением геометрии, которая заплыла слоями лака, и построением сломанных элементов.

scan-collage.png

3D-сканирование может оптимизировать и другие процессы реставрации, например, восстановление гипсовой и пластиковой лепнины. Изготавливать формы для отливок новых деталей легче по 3D-сканам.

examples.png

Интересно, что “Небольшой, изящный, как королевская игрушка…” особняк Бурмистровой и сама хозяйка стали прототипами для романа И. С. Рукавишникова “Проклятый род”. Также отметим, что памятная дата юбилея Горького, 28 марта, внесена в список ЮНЕСКО на 2018-2019 годы.

house.jpg

Фото: agentika.com