Creating a custom 3D model equipment library to reduce expenses

Technology: scanning with markers, reverse engineering
Location: RangeVision workshop
Equipment: RangeVision PRO 2M 3D scanner
Software: ScanCenter, CAD
Time costs: scanning and processing - 4 hours, building the models - 8 hours, drafting - 4 hours

RangeVision specialists performed 3D scanning and produced CAD drawings of router cutters to create a custom 3D model library for a furniture company. Now the client does not depend on foreign suppliers and can create new cutter profiles for woodworking.

The task was to scan three woodcutting bits and produce design documentation for their manufacturing. A lot of companies make their own digital archives of expendable tools in case of wear or rapid upgrades.

The cutting edge needed to be recreated with particular accuracy, so a professional RangeVision PRO 2M 3D scanner was used. To minimize the initial model creation time, RV engineers scanned all cutters simultaneously. They fixed the cutters to a flat surface with the use of modelling clay, and attached markers to the surface, as close to each other as possible, without intersection. After that, RV engineers scanned the bits step-by-step from all directions to obtain the objects faceted surface in .stl format, and used these scans to create a mathematical model.


The accuracy requirements for the CAD file were given by the client in advance, so RV engineers sent a comparison of the mathematical model and initial scans for the approval. This step is always performed for self-control but can be shared with the customer on demand. After the results were approved, the specialists produced the drawings.

Now the client can save money on purchasing wear susceptible tools, minimize the dependency on foreign suppliers and plan their production cycle more accurately.

Собственная библиотека электронных моделей оснастки сократит расходы

Технология: сканирование с применением маркеров, реверс-инжиниринг
Локация: лаборатория RangeVision
Оборудование: 3D-cканер RangeVision PRO 2М
Программное обеспечение: ScanCenter, САПР
Временные затраты: сканирование и обработка сканов – 4 часа, построение моделей – 8 часов, выполнение чертежей – 8 часов.

Специалисты RangeVision провели 3D-сканирование фрез для архива цифровых моделей мебельной компании и выполнили их чертежи. Теперь заказчик не зависит от зарубежных поставщиков и создает новые профили резцов для обработки деревянных изделий.

Необходимо было отсканировать три фрезы от деревообрабатывающего станка и сделать конструкторскую документацию для их изготовления. Многие компании формируют собственный цифровой архив расходных инструментов на случай износа или оперативной модернизации.

Особенно точно нужно было воспроизвести режущую кромку инструментов, поэтому применяли профессиональный 3D-сканер RangeVision PRO 2M. Чтобы сократить время получения первичных полигональных моделей, все три фрезы сканировались одновременно. Детали прикрепили пластилином на горизонтальную поверхность с предварительно наклеенными маркерами на минимальном расстоянии друг от друга, избегая их взаимного перекрытия. Далее провели пошаговое круговое сканирование и получили фасетную поверхность объектов в формате stl. По сканам создали математические модели.


Поскольку заказчик заранее определил критерии точности для CAD-файла, инженеры отправили на согласование сравнительный анализ математической модели с исходным сканом. Этот этап выполняется для самоконтроля всегда, но по требованию данные предоставляются заказчику. После одобрения результата верификации инженеры подготовили чертежи.

Теперь заказчик может экономить на приобретении быстро изнашиваемых инструментов, минимизировать зависимость от зарубежных поставщиков и более четко планировать производственный цикл.