Reverse engineering of propeller

The combination of several software products is increasingly used by engineers for constructing mathematical models. How does it work? Here we will tell you about it using the case study of one of the companies designing unmanned aerial vehicles. The equipment employed in a wide range of applications, namely in geodesy, mining, agriculture, construction, monitoring of high-rise buildings. The cases of using UAV for aerial photography or even computer-managed delivery are also fairly common.


Initially, the developer got the task to design the new model of the propeller with certain characteristics for UAV. But later, in order to save time, it was decided to copy a similar propeller for the further refinement and improvement of the product characteristics. The contractor was the company DE-ENGINEERING which provides 3D services, reverse engineering and design.


To avoid starting from scratch, the engineers of the company decided to resort to 3D scanning. They chose to use RangeVision PRO 2 M 3D scanner which makes it possible to obtain high-accurate data through the structured-light technology.


As the surface of the detail was glossy, the engineers covered it with a matte spray.  They also used AZURE BP-470 light filters as leverage to perform 3D scanning. Digitizing of the prop and subsequent mesh processing in RangeVision ScanCenter software resulted in obtaining file in .stl format which can be uploaded in any CAD-products to finalize.


DE-ENGINEERING company uses Catia software for computer-aided design. 3D scanning and post-processing of the obtained data took 1,5 hours. Reverse engineering in Catia software took 8 hours. The quality of the final 3D model was tested in Polyworks software.


This case study demonstrates the suitability of RangeVision 3D scanners for reverse engineering in CAD-software products for computer-aided design. The format of the obtained data makes it possible to import 3D scans in any CAD-product to finalize. 3D scanning through the help of RangeVision PRO 2M allows saving the time in generating a CAD-model from scratch since the obtained 3D scans are highly precise. The universal CAD-models are used in a wide range of production sectors.

You can watch the whole process of reverse engineering based on 3D scanning data through RangeVision PRO 2M in this review. The first part of the video looks at the 3D scanning process and mesh processing of the final 3D model in RangeVision ScanCenter software, the second one shows the СAD-model specification in Catia on its basis.

We are grateful to DE-Engineering for providing the information!

Реверс инжиниринг пропеллера для БЛА

Все чаще для проектирования математических моделей инженеры используют комбинацию нескольких программных продуктов. Как это работает? Мы расскажем вам об этом на примере одной из фирм, занимающихся проектированием беспилотных летательных аппаратов. Это оборудование применяется в геодезии - построении плана местности, горном деле, сельском хозяйстве, строительстве, мониторинге высотных объектов. Нередки случаи применения БЛА в аэрофотосъемке и даже в автоматизированной доставке.

Изначально перед компанией-разработчиком стояла задача спроектировать новый пропеллер с определёнными характеристиками для БЛА. Но в последствии, чтобы сэкономить время, было решено скопировать похожий пропеллер для последующей доработки и улучшения характеристик изделия. Исполнителем заказа стала фирма DE-ENGINEERING, оказывающая услуги по 3D сканированию, реверс инжинирингу и проектированию.


Для того, чтобы избежать длительного процесса построения параметрической модели с нуля, специалисты компании решили прибегнуть к технологии 3D сканирования. В своей работе они использовали 3D сканер RangeVision PRO 2M, который позволяет получать высокоточные данные благодаря технологии структурированного подсвета.


Так как поверхность детали была глянцевой, специалисты компании нанесли на нее матирующий спрей. В качестве вспомогательных средств для проведения сканирования были использованы светофильтры AZURE BP-470. В результате оцифровки пропеллера и последующей обработки данных сканирования в программе ScanCenter был получен файл в формате .stl, который можно импортировать в любую CAD-программу для дальнейшей доработки.


Компания DE-ENGINEERING использует программу для автоматизированного проектирования Catia. В результате сканирование и пост-обработка полученных сканов заняли 1,5 часа. Обратная разработка модели в программе Catia - 8 часов. Качество полученного результата было проверено в программе Polyworks.


Данный пример использования показывает, что 3D сканеры RangeVision подходят для выполнения реверс инжиниринга в программах для автоматизированного CAD-моделирования. Формат данных сканирования позволяет импортировать их в любой софт для дальнейшей доработки. 3D cканирование с помощью RangeVision PRO 2M позволяет сэкономить время на проектировании CAD-модели с нуля, поскольку полученные данные обладают высокой точностью и детализацией. CAD-модели универсальны и используются во многих отраслях производства.

Вы можете посмотреть полный процесс проведения реверс инжиниринга на основе данных 3D сканирования с помощью RangeVision PRO 2M здесь. Первая часть видео показывает процесс сканирования и сбора финальной 3D модели в формате stl в программе RangeVision ScanCenter, а вторая - создание СAD-модели на ее основе в Catia.

Выражаем благодарность DE-Engineering за предоставленные материалы!